Top 5 Movies of the Year….SO FAR.

Tis the season for “serious movies”, and I’m sure this list will change a bit by December (but who knows nowadays), but here is my list of the top 5 of the year so far….enjoy?

1)Vicky Christina Barcelona:
Brilliant. I think any pretentious “film buff” you will talk to will down this movie and compare it unfavorably to “Annie Hall” and “Manhattan”, but even though it’s not on the level of Allen’s earlier work, it certainly is better than anything he’s done this decade. Personally I would rank this as one of my personal favorites of his and yes, Cruz certainly deserves an Oscar nom.
Vicky Christina Barcelona
2)Snow Angels:
Though David Gordon Green disappointed me a tad with “Pineapple Express”, it was the extreme opposite with this truly beautiful film.
Snow Angels
3)The Dark Knight:
Duh.
The Dark Knight
4)Funny Games:
Say what you will about “Funny Games”, I thought it was genius.
Funny Games
5)American Teen:
If you have a younger brother/sister who’s on their way to the big house, let them watch this.
American Teen

Honorable Mentions: Tropic Thunder & Speed Racer.

Leave a comment